The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has honoured 77 of its staff in Ebonyi for outstanding performance and excellent service, pledging commitment to conduct credible 2019 general elections.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the event took place at the commission’s multi-purpose pavilion on Thursday in Abakaliki.

The 77 staff were given certificates of excellence in recognition of their commendable contributions to the commission.

The Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), INEC Ebonyi, Prof Godswill Obioma, in a keynote address said that the award was in recognition of outstanding performances between 2017 and 2018.

He said that “The event holding today was founded on deep process of selection, covering a wider range of categories and coming after 15 months of my stay as the REC in Ebonyi.

“It is our hope and desire that this award of excellence for staff will be sustained and made an annual event to spur and encourage staff to greater productivity.

“The excellence award is an initiative of INEC, Ebonyi aimed at identifying those who have distinguished themselves with invaluable services to the commission in order to reward and motivate them for increased productivity and continued job performances.’’

NAN reports that outstanding and long service awards went to senior and junior workers, cleaners, gardeners, drivers and security guards drawn from the state and local government area offices of the commission.

Obioma charged the awardees to leverage on the recognition to put in their best in the service of the commission.

“You should grow from good to best and never be carried away by the encomiums of today to relapse.

“Those of you who are not celebrated today, you should strive to be winners tomorrow so as to keep the flag of the commission’s productivity in top mast,’’ he said.

Three of the awardees, Messrs Ifeanyi Nnaji, Lazarus Ogodo and Mrs Elizabeth Okoro in their separate remarks described the award as a driving force to spur them to greater productivity.

NAN reports that Mr Sunday Ebenyi received most outstanding staff award, with 60 out of the 77 recipients being men and 17 women.